47518 Posts in 5447 Topics - by 10851 Members - Latest Member: 1984doubledragon

Author Topic: Maximum pool pc no audio  (Read 3260 times)

ajseguin

  • 8-Bit
  • Posts: 6
Maximum pool pc no audio
« on: August 13, 2011, 10:32:53 PM »
My friend recently got maximum pool on the dreamcast and since i don't have a dreamcast yet, i decided to play with my pc online (cross-platform FTW) but the pc version doesn't have any audio... well some occasional sound efects play but it's rare. all the settings are in the right position...  Any of you solved this?

Thanks, AJ
I used to think that anything else then nintendo or atari was shit, I got a Sega Saturn at a flea market, it proved me wrong.

Call_me_sir

  • Hardcore n00b
  • Administrator
  • 128-bit
  • *****
  • Posts: 2672
Re: Maximum pool pc no audio
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2011, 11:02:35 PM »
I've never heard of maximum pool before, but I know that old games sometimes have issues with current sound cards, the PC port of Metal Gear Solid 2 also has these issues. If there's not a patch for modern cards, I'm not sure what to tell you.

ajseguin

  • 8-Bit
  • Posts: 6
Re: Maximum pool pc no audio
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2011, 12:23:59 AM »
arlight, i'll keep searching, if i find the solution, i'll share it
I used to think that anything else then nintendo or atari was shit, I got a Sega Saturn at a flea market, it proved me wrong.

Elite Evil

  • Well hung poster
  • Administrator
  • 128-bit
  • *****
  • Posts: 1658
Re: Maximum pool pc no audio
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2011, 03:31:08 AM »
You could try using DXDIAG (start, run dxdiag.exe) and try turning down the acceleration one step at a time and see if any fix the issue.
Freedom headquarters!

ajseguin

  • 8-Bit
  • Posts: 6
Re: Maximum pool pc no audio
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2011, 10:27:05 PM »
i ran the direct x diagnosis but i can't find anything to change the acceleration for the sound device...
I used to think that anything else then nintendo or atari was shit, I got a Sega Saturn at a flea market, it proved me wrong.

Elite Evil

  • Well hung poster
  • Administrator
  • 128-bit
  • *****
  • Posts: 1658
Re: Maximum pool pc no audio
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2011, 03:56:39 AM »
Freedom headquarters!

ajseguin

  • 8-Bit
  • Posts: 6
Re: Maximum pool pc no audio
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2011, 06:53:08 AM »
oh, i don't have the DirectX Features section... probably because i'm running windows 7?
I used to think that anything else then nintendo or atari was shit, I got a Sega Saturn at a flea market, it proved me wrong.

Elite Evil

  • Well hung poster
  • Administrator
  • 128-bit
  • *****
  • Posts: 1658
Re: Maximum pool pc no audio
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2011, 11:05:42 PM »
Hmmmm.... maybe that is the main problem!
Freedom headquarters!

ajseguin

  • 8-Bit
  • Posts: 6
Re: Maximum pool pc no audio
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2011, 02:57:58 AM »
yea i tried different compability modes.... using analog audio outputs... i tried it on a windows xp machine and still doesn't work
I used to think that anything else then nintendo or atari was shit, I got a Sega Saturn at a flea market, it proved me wrong.

Call_me_sir

  • Hardcore n00b
  • Administrator
  • 128-bit
  • *****
  • Posts: 2672
Re: Maximum pool pc no audio
« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2011, 03:16:06 AM »
You've likely tried this already and I don't think it would work anyway, but have you set the compatibility mode to windows 95?

ajseguin

  • 8-Bit
  • Posts: 6
Re: Maximum pool pc no audio
« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2011, 04:31:05 AM »
You've likely tried this already and I don't think it would work anyway, but have you set the compatibility mode to windows 95?

yeap all from 95 to xp....
I used to think that anything else then nintendo or atari was shit, I got a Sega Saturn at a flea market, it proved me wrong.